Skip to content

Retiring Members of Congress

As of this writing, 35 members of the House and seven members of the Senate are not seeking re-election in 2024.

Senate: Of the U.S. Senate members not running for re-election, six (Sens. Stabenow (D-MI), Cardin (D-MD), Carper (D-DE), Romney (R-UT), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), and Manchin (D-WV)) announced their retirements from public office, while Sen. Braun (R-IN) is running for governor of Indiana.

House: Of the 35 U.S. House members not seeking re-election:

  • 12—three Republicans and nine Democrats—are running for the U.S. Senate.
  • Two—one Democrat and one Republican—are running for state attorney general.
  • One Democrat is running for governor.
  • One Democrat is running for President of the United States.
  • 19—10 Democrats and nine Republicans—are retiring from public office.